h1

The saucy elf

January 16, 2007

In case you are wondering about the picture of the elf at the top of this blog, here is the story.

For some strange reason I like taking pictures of statues/dolls/figurines/etc. I also like taking lots of family pictures, but I seemed to have found my own little niche/passion in inanimate faces. I am trying to put together a collection of my images called “Doll Face”.

So, this past Christmas when we took the little one for her Santa photo there was a very impressive staging of Santa’s workshop as we waited in line to see the big guy. Neatly perched amongst the toys and tools were these various elf figures. Something about them both fascinated and scared me. They were not exactly kid-friendly elves. They ranged from having an evil glint in their eyes to having an Opium-induced dreamlike smile on their faces. We call the  particular fellow pictured above the “Saucy Elf”.

The little guy is one of my favorite photos that I have taken. He gets pride of place at the top of this blog. I am not, however, a “saucy elf”. At least, I don’t think I am.

Leave a Reply

