h1

My choice. I am burned out on blogs. Yes, there …

August 19, 2005

My choice.

I am burned out on blogs.

Yes, there is such a thing. I honestly found that after reading so many blogs each day, and diligently writing mine as often as possible, I just couldn’t take it anymore. My mind could not focus on, nor differentiate among, the endless stream of words and opinions. I had nothing more to say.

What is the cause, I began to ask myself (after essentially just dropping out of the “blogsphere” — could there be a more idiotic name?). I was really attempting to deconstruct my own deep engagement in a fundamentally zero-sum game. I read and read and repeated and repeated. No steps forward and no steps back.

There are a few blogs that a truly innovative, interesting, and capable of rising above the day to day musings of PC prophets or the oh-so-cool insider rants on everything from fashion to fetish, bits to bats. There are writers out there that I admire and envy, some so fiendishly good that they deserve a dedicated stream on the internet all their own. And, then, there is everyone else.

As best as I can determine, for every great blog there are at least 10,000 ordinary blogs. Not necessarily just plain bad, but ordinary in the purest sense of the word. Like a conversation at the Laundromat, the barber, or the health club. A simple exchange between two ordinary people just like me.

Therein lies the problem. I can only take so many of those type of conversations in real life, and the same applies online. I don’t want to have 20 of those type of conversations a day. I want to be able to have a few and from them extrapolate all I need to know about other people for the day.

The solution, or so I read in about 600 blogs, was RSS feeds. Yeah, right. Now I can have those same ordinary conversations following me around everywhere I go. Like a curse placed on me by a lazy witch, I would have to listen to the innermost thoughts of everyone I passed on the internet. Not working for me, babe.

I detached. I never even opened my RSS reader anymore. I stopped reading all but a very select few blogs, and those very topically focused on the things I care about offline. This was my secret shame (I DO work for the biggest software company in the world) and my secret pleasure. I could go for days without the voices of others gently interrupting my day.

Am I hypocrite? Sure. Who isn’t in some way? Are my own words exceedingly ordinary? I think so, but you might decide otherwise.

I am stepping back lightly into pushing my own ordinary voice into the wilderness. It might be an essentially one-sided affair, but I think it is better for me than reading all those other voices. I am selfish, ego-driven, and perhaps as in need of external validation as the next person.

Validate my thesis and stop reading me. Validate my ego and read me some more.

Your choice.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a Reply

