h1

110503093949788161

January 6, 2005

The Plot Against America : A Novel — Philip Roth

I am reading this novel and even though I have not finished it (I know how it turns out, having read a boatload of reviews since it was released) I do want to recommend it highly. The recommendation is based as much on the scary prospect of “it could happen” as on the beauty of the writing. Truth is, I have never been a big fan of Philip Roth. Although highly regarded as one of the best of our living authors, his writing has always left me cold and unmoved. That is certainly not the case here. I feel moved, frightened, and ultimately inspired by this book.

Leave a Reply

