h1

108998185936179602

July 16, 2004

Sitting in a corporate pep rally drives a person to think (and to drink). It makes me think about the reasons why I joined my employer, how I should behave at these type of events, and even why I work in the industry I do.
 
For the first question, it always comes back to the belief that technology can change the world, and that being at the center of technological innovation and technological market power is the best way to effect change. I still believe this today, and doubt that belief will ever change. When I think about the technology that is coming is really transforming, and I have believed this for more than 15 years in this business.
 
How I should behave at these type of events is a more complex question. I feel myself having a degree of cynicism that I is somewhat unfaltering. Yet, it is hard not to be cynical when being fed a firehose of corporate “hype”. There is a limit to how many times I can cheer and can whoop and holler. If there were no limit, I would be pretty worried.
 
In the end, I do think my company is the right place for me to be at this point in my career. Just don’t expect me to blindly cheer on for the mere sake of it. I will cheer when warranted, and be a cynic when appropriate.
 
At 8 am this morning I am just tired.

Leave a Reply

